News Operators Teleport

Du’s Samacom teleport amongst finalists for 2013 teleport awards

Newtec's M6100 Broadcast Satellite Modulator will be vying for top honours in the category, Teleport Technology of the Year, with ModuMAX General Dynamics SATCOM Solid State HPA and Adtec Digital's EN-91 MPEG4 HD Encoder.
Ahmed Al Muhaideb, vice president – IPTV & broadcasting services, du (Samacom)

The World Teleport Association has announced the finalists for its 2013 Teleport Awards for Excellence. du will be vying for the top honours in the Independant Teleport Category with NewCom International (USA) and M-Three Satcom (Italy).

Newtec’s M6100 Broadcast Satellite Modulator will be vying for the top position in the category of Teleport Technology of the Year with ModuMAX General Dynamics SATCOM Solid State HPA and Adtec Digital – EN-91 MPEG4 HD Encoder

From this group of finalists, WTA will name the winners at the 18th annual Teleport Awards for Excellence Ceremony and Luncheon on March 19 at the Walter E. Washington Convention Centre in Washington, DC.

WTA selects its finalists from nominations submitted to the association by both members and non-members. Recipients are selected by committees of previous recipients, WTA Board members and management, and Industry Leader and Patron members.



2013 Finalists for Independent Teleport of the Year


  • NewCom International (USA)
  • t

  • du (UAE)
  • t

  • M-Three Satcom (Italy)

2013 Finalists for Teleport Technology of the Year


  • Newtec M6100 Broadcast Satellite Modulator
  • t

  • ModuMAX General Dynamics SATCOM Solid State HPA
  • t

  • Adtec Digital – EN-91 MPEG4 HD Encoder

The 2013 luncheon, sponsored by SES, will be attended by over 150 guests, customers of and representatives. Attendees include teleport, satellite and content distribution technology industry executives, as well as previous awards recipients from around the world.  For the 17th time, WTA’s Director of Development Louis Zacharilla will emcee the event.

“This year’s finalists represent both the excellence and geographic diversity of the independent teleport operator sector and the innovation that continues among the technology services providers which support them,” said Louis Zacharilla. “Each of these finalists represent well the global teleport industry of 2013.”

In addition to honoring the winner from these two awards categories, WTA will present the Teleport Executive of the Year Award. The recipient of the 2013 Teleport Executive of the Year Award will be announced in early March.