News Operators Teleport

WTA announces winners of the annual Teleport Awards for Excellence at Satellite 2019

nanoCDN for Satellite by Broadpeak was chosen as Teleport Technology of the Year while the award for Independent Teleport Operator of the Year went to Santander Teleport.
The Broadpeak team won the award for their nanoCDN technology.

The World Teleport Association (WTA) today announced the winners of the 24th annual Teleport Awards for Excellence during an exclusive luncheon at SATELLITE 2019. The awards are presented each year to organisations and individuals in the teleport industry whose achievements have been deemed exceptional by the international trade association and its awards committees, made up of industry members from across the globe.

nanoCDN for Satellite by Broadpeak was chosen as Teleport Technology of the Year. Broadpeak’s nanoCDN for satellite allows satellite TV providers to deliver a true multiscreen experience with Adaptive Bitrate content while preserving the quality of traditional satellite distribution. The technology converts unicast streams into multicast so that content can be delivered over the satellite to a local gateway. Broadpeak’s nanoCDN for satellite allows operators to deliver live TV content not only to STB equipped with a satellite signal receiver but to all the screens in the house. In addition, by deploying a circular buffer within the reception gateway, satellite TV providers can further expand their offering to include on all screens advanced services such as trick play and start-over TV for increased monetization.

The award for Independent Teleport Operator of the Year went to Santander Teleport, which offers satellite communication services in C, X and Ku bands for enterprise and government markets in a number of sectors including maritime, enterprise, and defense. Its teleport facilities in Spain provide access to the geostationary arc between 67W to 65E thus covering a region from Western Australia to North America, Mediterranean Sea, Indian and Atlantic Oceans. The teleport infrastructure is fully managed 24/7 by the Network Operations Centre providing support in European time zone and English/Spanish languages to deliver excellence is customer service.

In addition to honouring the winner from these two awards categories, WTA presented the 2019 Teleport Executive of the Year Award to Guido Neumann, Managing Director of CETel at the luncheon.

Speaking about the winners, WTA’s Executive Director Robert Bell said: “Our 2019 award winners represent the two qualities that keep the teleport industry growing. Their absolute commitment to quality of service for customers and technical innovation that expands their opportunities.”

WTA also presented a Lifetime Achievement Award to William Bartlett Walton Jr., President of W.B. Walton Enterprises, Inc. The over 150 luncheon attendees included teleport, satellite and content distribution technology industry executives, as well as previous awards recipients from around the world.